23 July 201820:54

Press release on the forthcoming discussion of Russia’s sixth periodic report at the Committee Against Torture

1381-23-07-2018

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

In Geneva on July 25 and 26, the 64th session of the Committee Against Torture will consider Russia’s sixth periodic report on meeting international commitments under the Convention Against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment.

The Russian delegation, headed by Mikhail Galperin, Deputy Minister of Justice and Representative of the Russian Federation at the European Court of Human Rights, will submit the report. The delegation consists of representatives of federal ministries and agencies, including the Ministry of Justice, the Foreign Ministry, the Defence Ministry, the Federal Penitentiary Service and the General Prosecutor’s Office.

The Russian Federation attaches great importance to developing cooperation with the Committee Against Torture and human rights treaty bodies in general, considering them to be an important element of the international system for the advocacy and  protection of human rights.  As a participant of an overwhelming majority of universal international treaties on human rights, Russia regularly submits periodic reports on meeting its respective commitments. We believe that effective cooperation in this area depends on a depoliticised constructive dialogue, support for national efforts to promote and protect human rights and strict compliance by treaty bodies with provisions of international treaties within their purview and authority.

 

 

x
x
Advanced settings

23.07.1820:54

О предстоящем рассмотрении шестого периодического доклада России в Комитете против пыток

1381-23-07-2018

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

СООБЩЕНИЕ ДЛЯ СМИ

 

25 и 26 июля в Женеве в рамках 64-й сессии Комитета против пыток состоится рассмотрение шестого периодического доклада Российской Федерации о выполнении международных обязательств по Конвенции против пыток и других жестоких, бесчеловечных или унижающих достоинство видов обращения и наказания.

Представлять доклад будет российская делегация во главе с Уполномоченным Российской Федерации при Европейском Суде по правам человека - заместителем Министра юстиции Российской Федерации М.Л.Гальпериным. В ее состав вошли представители федеральных министерств и ведомств, включая Минюст России, МИД России, Минобороны России, ФСИН России и Генеральную прокуратуру Российской Федерации.

Российская Федерация придает большое значение развитию сотрудничества с Комитетом против пыток и договорными органами по правам человека в целом, рассматривая их в качестве важного элемента международной системы поощрения и защиты прав человека. Будучи участником подавляющего большинства универсальных международных договоров в правозащитной сфере, Россия регулярно представляет периодические доклады о выполнении своих соответствующих обязательств. Считаем, что залогом эффективного взаимодействия на данном направлении должен быть деполитизированный и конструктивный диалог, поддержка национальных усилий в области поощрения и защиты прав человека, а также неукоснительное соблюдение договорными органами положений международных договоров, касающихся предмета их ведения и полномочий.

x
x
Дополнительные инструменты поиска