27 March 201817:11

Comment by the Information and Press Department on the 37th session of the UN Human Rights Council

575-27-03-2018

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

On March 23, the 37th session of the UN Human Rights Council ended in Geneva.

During a month of intensive work, session participants passed over 40 resolutions and decisions on important issues on the international human rights agenda, including the link between human rights and development, efforts to counter torture, guaranteeing the right to privacy, the rights of people with disabilities and the rights of ethnic, religious and linguistic minorities. They organised a number of special procedures, conducted eight discussions on specific subjects, including high-level discussions, as well as dialogues with the council’s special sections and the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights.

In his policy speech, Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov, who took part in the high level session, talked about Russia’s human rights priorities. He also opened the extremely popular photo exhibit Only Wings Matter: Breaking the Stereotypes that highlighted Russia’s positive experience in involving disabled people in cultural and sport activities.

A high level discussion on the 70th anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and the 25th anniversary of the Vienna Declaration and Action Programme, initiated by the Russian Federation, made a substantial contribution to the session’s work.

During the session, the Russian delegation consistently defended the principle of non-interference in the domestic affairs of states, the unacceptability of unilateral coercive measures, commitment to the rule of law, advocated more active efforts to combat racism, neo-Nazism, ethnic and religious intolerance, the protection of ethnic minorities, efforts to reduce the number of stateless persons and to encourage human rights through sport and the Olympic movement’s ideals.

The council adopted the “Judiciary System Integrity” resolution submitted at Russia’s initiative. It contains an unequivocal appeal to states to ensure for all people under their jurisdiction equal access to justice, close all secret detention facilities and abstain from using the fragmentation of the judicial system as a loophole for not fulfilling the obligation on promoting and defending human rights. It is regrettable that the US delegation demanded voting on this draft resolution apparently against the background of Washington’s refusal to abide by its promise to close the special prison at the Guantanamo military base.

Important supplements were included in the updated resolution of the council on human rights and sport, which is traditionally co-authored by Russia. It emphasises the correspondence of IOC activities with the Olympic Charter and the unacceptability of discriminating against athletes.

The Russian delegation drew attention to the serious human rights problems in a number of countries, primarily Ukraine, and emphasised the need to thoroughly investigate the violations and crimes by Ukrainian security service agents. Kiev’s inaction on the Minsk agreements and adoption of laws restricting the rights of national minorities in education and use of native tongue were resolutely denounced.

 Russia’s representatives also expressed their concern over US human rights violations, including torture, arbitrary executions, racial profiling, and the position of migrants in a number of European Union countries including Great Britain, preservation of mass-scale lack of citizenship rights in Latvia and Estonia, and the persisting trends towards growing intolerance, radicalism, reduction of media pluralism and harassment of dissidents in the Baltic region and Ukraine,

Regrettably, a number of countries continue using the council to reach their own political goals that are far from true concerns about human rights. This again led to confrontation-prone manifestations that accompanied the discussion of human rights in individual countries throughout the session. Proceeding from opportunistic considerations, some countries, primarily the EU, Ukraine and the US refused to denounce terrorist acts against civilians in Syria and join the appeal not to finance terrorism on much-suffering Syrian soil. We consider this approach not only as a manifestation of double standards but also as an indirect encouragement of terrorism.

It is perplexing that some countries try to put on the Council’s agenda items the elaboration and implementation of which are not within its competence: issues related to the maintenance of peace and security, healthcare, and the struggle against terrorism, drug trafficking and corruption. For our part, we will firmly adhere to the observance of the existing “division of labour” between the relevant UN agencies and avoid the doubling of their functions.

We believe that the equitable and respectful cooperation of states, based on the universally recognised norms and principles of international law, should be the cornerstone of the council’s activities. We welcome the adoption of the resolution on promoting mutually beneficial cooperation in human rights that reaffirms this principle.

We note the growing interest of representatives of Russian civil society in the participation in the Council’s activities and conduct in parallel events on its sidelines.

We will continue striving for the maximum depoliticisation of the Council’s work and preservation of its inter-governmental character because this is the only way of retaining the confidence of the entire international community in this important UN body.

x
x
Advanced settings

27.03.1817:11

Комментарий Департамента информации и печати МИД России об итогах 37-й сессии Совета ООН по правам человека

575-27-03-2018

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

23 марта в Женеве завершилась 37-я сессия Совета ООН по правам человека.

В результате месяца напряженной работы принято более 40 резолюций и решений по важным вопросам международной правозащитной повестки дня, включая проблематику взаимосвязи прав человека и развития, противодействия пыткам, обеспечения права на неприкосновенность частной жизни, прав инвалидов, лиц, принадлежащих к национальным, религиозным и языковым меньшинствам. Состоялось назначение ряда специальных процедур, проведено 8 тематических дискуссий, в том числе высокого уровня, а также диалоги со спецмеханизмами Совета и Верховным комиссаром ООН по правам человека.

В сегменте высокого уровня принял участие Министр иностранных дел Российской Федерации С.В.Лавров, в программном выступлении которого отражены наши приоритеты в правозащитной сфере. Он также открыл вызвавшую большой интерес фотовыставку «Когда крылья важнее. Преодолевая стереотипы», продемонстрировавшую позитивные наработки России в сфере вовлечения инвалидов в культурную и спортивную жизнь.

Весомым вкладом в работу сессии стала инициированная Российской Федерацией тематическая дискуссия высокого уровня, посвященная 70-летию Всеобщей декларации прав человека и 25-й годовщине Венской декларации и Программы действий.

В ходе сессии российская делегация последовательно отстаивала принцип невмешательства во внутренние дела государств, неприемлемость односторонних принудительных мер, приверженность верховенству права, выступала за активизацию борьбы с расизмом, неонацизмом, этнической и религиозной нетерпимостью, защиту национальных меньшинств, сокращение безгражданства, поощрение прав человека через спорт и идеалы Олимпийского движения.

Совет одобрил внесенную по российской инициативе резолюцию «Целостность судебной системы». В документе к государствам адресован недвусмысленный призыв обеспечить всем лицам под их юрисдикцией равный доступ к правосудию, закрыть все секретные места содержания под стражей и не использовать фрагментацию судебной системы в качестве «лазейки» для невыполнения обязательства по поощрению и защите прав человека. Вызывает сожаление, что делегация США, по-видимому, на фоне отказа Вашингтона от обещания закрыть спецтюрьму на военной базе в Гуантанамо, потребовала голосования по этому проекту.

Важные дополнения удалось включить в обновленную резолюцию Совета по правам человека и спорту, соавтором которой традиционно является наша страна. Среди них – акцент на соответствие деятельности МОК Олимпийской хартии и недопустимость дискриминации спортсменов.

Российская делегация энергично привлекала внимание к серьезным проблемам в правозащитной сфере в ряде государств, прежде всего на Украине, подчеркивала необходимость тщательного расследования грубых нарушений и преступлений со стороны украинских силовиков. Решительно осуждено бездействие Киева в части выполнения Минских соглашений, а также принятие законов, ограничивающих права национальных меньшинств в сфере образования и использования родного языка.

Представители России, кроме того, выразили озабоченность нарушениями прав человека в США, включая пытки, произвольные казни, расовое профилирование, положение мигрантов в ряде стран Евросоюза, в том числе в Великобритании, сохранением массового безгражданства в Латвии и Эстонии, сохраняющимися тенденциями роста нетерпимости, радикализма, сокращения плюрализма СМИ, преследования инакомыслия в Прибалтике, на Украине.

Приходится констатировать, что ряд стран продолжает использовать Совет в интересах достижения собственных политических целей, далеких от реальной заботы о правах человека. Это вновь результировало в конфронтационные проявления, которыми на протяжении всей сессии сопровождалось рассмотрение положения в области прав человека в отдельных странах. Из конъюнктурных соображений некоторые государства, прежде всего страны ЕС, Украина и США, отказались осудить террористические акты против мирного населения в Сирии и выступить с призывом не oсуществлять финансирование терроризма на многострадальной сирийской земле. Считаем подобную линию не только проявлением «двойных стандартов», но и косвенным поощрением терроризма.

Вызывают недоумение попытки отдельных стран привнести в повестку дня Совета темы, разработка и реализация стратегии ООН по которым не относятся к его компетенции: вопросы поддержания мира и безопасности, здравоохранения, противодействия терроризму, борьбы с наркотиками и коррупцией. Со своей стороны будем твердо придерживаться линии на соблюдение существующего «разделения труда» между профильными органами системы ООН, не допуская дублирования их функций.

Исходим из того, что краеугольным камнем деятельности Совета должно оставаться равноправное и уважительное сотрудничество государств, основанное на общепризнанных нормах и принципах международного права. Приветствуем принятие на сессии СПЧ резолюции «Поощрение взаимовыгодного сотрудничества в области прав человека», которая подтверждает этот принцип.

Отмечаем растущий интерес представителей российского гражданского общества к участию в работе Совета и проведению на его «полях» параллельных мероприятий.

Будем и далее стремиться к максимальной деполитизации работы Совета, работать над обеспечением сохранения его межправительственного характера, поскольку только так можно сохранить доверие всего мирового сообщества к данному важному органу ООН.

x
x
Дополнительные инструменты поиска