27 October 201715:25

Comment by Head of the Foreign Ministry Department for Humanitarian Cooperation and Human Rights and Commissioner for Human Rights, Democracy and the Rule of Law Anatoly Viktorov on the EU annual human rights report

2064-27-10-2017

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

We have studied the EU Annual Report on Human Rights and Democracy in the World in 2016. This document, on the whole, resembles a bureaucratic accounting of the EU's multifaceted and vigorous human rights efforts with respect to third countries. The broad range of topics the EU has been trying to oversee abroad is characterised by growing ambition:  from the fight against radicalism and terrorism to the task of decriminalising homosexual  relations worldwide.

The country-specific chapters of the report vary, seeking to cast flattering light on existing achievements while quietly acknowledging flaws, and contain overly harsh assessments of the general human rights situation and direct attacks against the national governments of sovereign states.

We regret to note that, unfortunately, Brussels so far has failed to rid itself of Russophobic stereotypes. The chapter devoted to Russia was prepared in predetermined negative tone with no regard for repeated explanations given by Russia (publicly and at international human rights platforms) on concrete topics related to the protection of  human rights in our country.

Here is a typical example: despite asserting (with reference to the OSCE ODIHR) the transparency of the 2016 State Duma elections in Russia, our EU partners, nevertheless, stubbornly refer in their report to a generally negative electoral situation, permitting themselves to groundlessly speculate on an alleged clampdown on civil society.

It is also telling that responsibility for the deteriorating human rights situation in Ukraine is being shifted onto Russia. In our opinion, it is unacceptable for a report that claims to be objective to continue to blatantly conceal the large-scale and flagrant human rights violations in Ukraine , with no calls for changes, including with regard to the investigations –  suspended with the EU's tacit consent and connivance (the report being further proof of this) – into the deadly fire at the House of Trade Unions in Odessa, which led to numerous casualties, or the “sniper case” during the Maidan in Kiev.

Against this background, which vividly illustrates the degree of the “objectivity” and “impartiality” of the EU human rights report, we understand the EU's loyalty to its “strategic partner”, the United States, to which the report devotes just one and a half page of timid complaints unrelated to the major human rights problems gripping that country.

The report's foreword notes that positive trends (in the sphere of human rights and democracy) will not be prevalent without commitment and efforts on the part of the European Union.

We completely agree with this and believe that the European Union, as the world's largest integration-based union representing a large number of states that are rightfully considered to be the cradle of democracy and human rights, should move beyond politicised approaches, bias, lack of objectivity and a kind of nepotism in human rights affairs and opt for true cooperation in promoting universal human rights standards for all.

It should also be noted that in terms of the gravity and scale of human rights violations, the European Union has, unfortunately, become one of the leaders. Russia and the international human rights community have been calling out concrete examples virtually on a daily basis. We do hope that Brussels will eventually step up its efforts in this regard.

 

 

x
x
Advanced settings

27.10.1715:25

Комментарий директора Департамента по гуманитарному сотрудничеству и правам человека, Уполномоченного МИД России по вопросам прав человека, демократии и верховенства права А.Д.Викторова в связи с ежегодным докладом ЕС по теме прав человека

2064-27-10-2017

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

Ознакомились с вышедшим на днях очередным ежегодным докладом ЕС «Права человека и демократия в 2016 г.». Документ в целом напоминает бюрократический отчет-презентацию о многогранных активных усилиях ЕС в области прав человека в отношениях с третьими странами. Широта спектра тем, которые ЕС пытается курировать за рубежом, отличается растущей амбициозностью – от противодействия радикализации и терроризму, до задачи декриминализации гомосексуальных отношений во всем мире.

Страновые разделы доклада ЕС варьируются, включая как комплиментарную «подсветку» имеющихся достижений и сдержанную констатацию отдельных недоработок, так и предельно жесткие оценки общего положения дел в правозащитной сфере и прямые выпады в адрес национальных властей суверенных государств.

Констатируем, что, к сожалению, от русофобских стереотипов Брюсселю пока еще избавиться не удалось. Так, раздел доклада, посвященный России, подготовлен в априори негативистском ключе и без учета неоднократно дававшихся основательных разъяснений российской стороны (как публично, так и на профильных международных правозащитных площадках) по конкретным темам обеспечения прав человека в нашей стране.

Характерный пример: несмотря на констатацию (со ссылкой на БДИПЧ ОБСЕ) факта транспарентности прошедших в нашей стране в 2016 г. выборов в Государственную Думу, есовские партнеры, тем не менее, в своем докладе упрямо говорят о какой-то общей негативной электоральной ситуации, позволяя себе голословные заявления о «зажиме» гражданского общества.

Еще один показательный элемент: ответственность за деградирующую ситуацию с правами человека на Украине фактически перекладывается на Россию. При этом – что, на наш взгляд, недопустимо для претендующего на объективность доклада – налицо продолжение замалчивания масштабных и грубейших нарушений прав человека на Украине при отсутствии призывов к исправлению этой ситуации, включая «замороженные» с молчаливого согласия и потакательства ЕС (содержание доклада дополнительно подтверждает этот наш аргумент) расследования приведшего к многочисленным жертвам поджога Дома профсоюзов в Одессе и «дела снайперов» на киевском Майдане.

На этом фоне, красноречиво характеризующем степень «объективности» и «непредвзятости» доклада ЕС о правах человека, нам понятна лояльность ЕС к «стратегическому партнеру» – США, которым в докладе уделено полторы страницы застенчивых претензий, не затрагивающих главных правозащитных проблем, поразивших эту страну.

Во вступительном слове к докладу отмечается, что положительные тенденции (в области прав человека и демократии) не станут превалирующими без соответствующей приверженности и усилий в этом направлении со стороны Европейского союза.

Полностью солидарны с этим тезисом и считаем, что Европейский союз как крупнейшее интеграционное объединение в мире, представляющее целый ряд стран, по праву считающихся колыбелью демократии и развития прав человека, должен избавиться от политизированности, предвзятости, необъективности и своего рода кумовства в правозащитных делах, и приступить к подлинному сотрудничеству по продвижению единых универсальных стандартов в области прав человека.

Не будет также лишним напомнить, что по части серьезности и масштаба нарушений в области прав человека Европейский союз за последние годы, к сожалению, превратился в одного из лидеров. О конкретных примерах на этот счет Российская Федерация, да и международное правозащитное сообщество, сигнализируют практически в ежедневном режиме. Рассчитываем, что на этом направлении Брюссель все же активизирует свои усилия. 

x
x
Дополнительные инструменты поиска