14 December 201809:57

Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov’s speech at the 39th meeting of the BSEC Council of Foreign Ministers, Baku, December 14, 2018

2418-14-12-2018

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

Mr Chairperson, colleagues,

First, I would like to express gratitude to our Azerbaijani friends for their warm welcome and traditional hospitality.

We highly appreciate Azerbaijan’s activity during its chairmanship of the BSEC. We believe that Baku has generally managed to conduct a balanced line aimed at strengthening the organisation while preventing a politicised approach.

Symbolically, the Azerbaijani chairmanship has been held under the motto “Encouraging Trade through Interrelationship.” The Black Sea region comprises various countries which are also closely intertwined – historically and economically. Old trade routes and transport and energy corridors intersect in this region and new ones are being created. Various integration projects are ongoing. So, there is significant potential for economic cooperation. Unfortunately, we have failed to fully use it so far.  

The BSEC can make a useful contribution to effectively tackling this task. The BSEC’s activities objectively help promote the identity of the Black Sea littoral states and create institutional conditions for pushing forward a common regional economic agenda.

The declaration passed at the May 2017 BSEC Summit on the 25th anniversary of the BSEC sets forth new and ambitious goals for a practical perspective and we hope to achieve practical results. One of Russia’s priorities is to expand intra-regional trade and qualitatively improve its structure. Here, we have good stepping stones. I mean two mutually complementary documents – the Russia-proposed Framework Foundation for the Creation of One Stop Shop and Turkey’s Regional Trade Facilitation Strategy. The adoption of these has obviously dragged out; not all countries have ratified them yet. I hope that this matter will be resolved as soon as possible.

I would like to draw your attention to the need to move forward on two key BSEC projects in transport – the coordinated development of the Black Sea Ring Motorway and marine routes in the Black Sea. Their implementation will promote intra-regional trade and lure investment into the tourist and transport sectors. Unfortunately, the October 25 meeting of our countries’ transport ministers in Baku failed to produce a final document due to groundless objections by one delegation.

The Russian side is open, as before, to the discussion of rational ideas on the reform of the organisation. We are ready to consider proposals to create – with regard for the experience of other international organisations – a BSEC internal pension system that would include the whole staff of the Secretariat, and not just the technical staff.

We are counting on more BSEC Business Council activity, something that received major impetus during Turkish chairmanship. For our part, we have delegated representatives of an authoritative Russian business association, Delovaya Rossiya, to the Business Council.

The role of the private sector in interstate cooperation has been growing everywhere. Its more prominent role in the BSEC will promote the regional dialogue and broaden the organisation’s support base. We welcome the decision approved at the last meeting of the Council of Foreign Ministers to include entrepreneurs in delegations during working group meetings. Delovaya Rossiya representatives intend to participate in the working groups on small and medium-sized businesses, tourism and information and communications technology.

Russia has consistently advanced the “integration of integrations” concept. Regional cooperation formats should not be separate: it is necessary to build a common, harmonised economic space based on the aligned potential of various associations.

The BSEC has very good experience of partnerships with other multilateral structures. As a reminder, in the past the organisation established productive contacts with the Eurasian Economic Community. This grew into the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU) which has become an important factor in integration processes in the region. The signing of a memorandum of understanding between the BSEC and the EAEU would benefit both organisations.

Another attention-worthy matter is trans-border cooperation between individual regions. Similar cooperation is already being successfully carried out in the Baltic and in northern Europe in general. The same could be done in the Black Sea area under the aegis of the BSEC.

We support the development of cooperation between the UN and the BSEC. The November 26 resolution adopted at the 73rd session of the UN General Assembly lends additional impetus to the joining of efforts by the two organisations with a view to strengthening economic growth and integration processes in the Black Sea region. Unfortunately, for the second successive year, we have failed to resume the practice of holding informal meetings of the BSEC Council of Foreign Ministers on the sidelines of the UN General Assembly. 

As you know, a mechanism for project-oriented cooperation was set up within the BSEC framework at Russia’s initiative. We contributed $1 million to this fund. We hope that other countries will follow suit. Two projects have already been implemented: one through the Black Sea Trade and Development Bank (BSTDB) and the other in cooperation with the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE). Positive resolutions have been adopted on four other projects. New applications are being proposed. We will continue promoting initiatives in areas of interest to our citizens like, for example, improving the energy efficiency of buildings or popularising and branding original Black Sea cuisine dishes. We are grateful to the Secretary-General for ensuring the transparency of the work of the project-oriented cooperation mechanism. We hope that the fund can be used to finance joint projects with the European Union as well. Naturally, it is up to the littoral states themselves to determine these projects.

Colleagues,

Over a quarter of a century of existence, the BSEC has established itself as a sought-after regional platform. Further success will depend on how pragmatically we will be able to build our cooperation. Unfortunately, the situation in the Black Sea region has somewhat degraded in recent time. It is important to reverse this trend and make efforts to turn the Black Sea region into a zone of peace, stability and prosperity. We feel strongly that the organisation must not be an arena for political battles, let alone the squaring of accounts. The BSEC has a clearly defined economic profile and its status needs to be respected. This is a guarantee of the BSEC’s ability to assist in promoting integration ties.

In conclusion, I would like to wish success to Bulgaria which is taking over the BSEC chairmanship.   

 

 

Additional materials

Photos

Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE)

Council of Europe (CoE)

NATO (North Atlantic Treaty Organization)

European Union (EU)

x
x
Advanced settings

14.12.1809:57

Выступление Министра иностранных дел России С.В.Лаврова на 39-м заседании Совета министров иностранных дел государств-членов Организации Черноморского экономического сотрудничества, Баку, 14 декабря 2018 года

2418-14-12-2018

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

Уважаемый господин Председатель,

Уважаемые коллеги,

Прежде всего, хотел бы выразить признательность азербайджанским друзьям за теплый прием и традиционное гостеприимство.

Высоко оцениваем деятельность Азербайджана в качестве Председателя ОЧЭС. Считаем, что Баку в целом удалось проводить сбалансированную линию, направленную на укрепление Организации и недопущение политизации ее деятельности.

Символично, что азербайджанское Председательство проходит под лозунгом «Стимулирование торговли посредством взаимосвязанности». Черноморский регион объединяет разные государства, которые в то же время тесно переплетены между собой – исторически и экономически. Здесь пересекаются старые и создаются новые торговые пути, транспортные и энергетические коридоры. Осуществляются различные интеграционные проекты. Таким образом, потенциал экономического сотрудничества значителен. К сожалению, реализовать его в полном объеме пока не удается.

ОЧЭС может внести полезный вклад в эффективное решение этой задачи. Деятельность Организации объективно содействует упрочению идентичности Причерноморья, созданию институциональных условий для продвижения общерегиональной экономической повестки дня.

В декларации Саммита по случаю 25-летия ОЧЭС в мае 2017 г. мы зафиксировали новые амбициозные цели на обозримую перспективу. Рассчитываем на достижение практических результатов. Один из российских приоритетов – расширение внутрирегиональной торговли, качественное улучшение ее структуры. В этой области есть хорошие заделы. Имею в виду два взаимодополняющих документа – предложенные Россией Рамочные основы сотрудничества по созданию «единого окна» и турецкую Региональную стратегию упрощения торговли. С их принятием мы явно затянули. Не все страны еще дали согласие. Надеюсь, что вопрос решится в самое ближайшее время.

Хотел бы обратить внимание на необходимость интенсификации работы над двумя ключевыми проектами Организации в области транспорта, имею в виде, скоординированное развитие Кольцевой автомагистрали вокруг Черного моря и морских магистралей в регионе ОЧЭС. Их осуществление будет способствовать росту внутрирегиональной торговли, притоку инвестиций в туристическую и транспортную отрасли. К сожалению, на встрече министров транспорта наших стран 25 октября в Баку итоговый документ не был принят вследствие необоснованных возражений одной единственной делегации.

Российская сторона по-прежнему открыта к обсуждению рациональных идей по реформированию Организации. Готовы рассмотреть предложения по созданию – с учетом опыта других международных структур – собственной пенсионной системы ОЧЭС, которая охватывала бы всех сотрудников Секретариата, а не только технический персонал.

Рассчитываем на дальнейшее оживление деятельности Делового совета ОЧЭС, получившей серьезный импульс во время турецкого председательства. Со своей стороны, делегировали в Совет представителей авторитетной ассоциации российского бизнеса – «Деловую Россию».

Роль частного сектора в межгосударственном сотрудничестве повсеместно возрастает. Его активизация в ОЧЭС укрепит региональный диалог, расширит базу поддержки Организации. Приветствуем решение прошлого заседания СМИД о включении предпринимателей в состав делегаций на заседания рабочих групп. Представители «Деловой России» намерены подключиться к деятельности рабочих групп по малым и средним предприятиям, туризму, информационно-коммуникационным технологиям.

Россия последовательно продвигает концепцию «интеграции интеграций». Форматы регионального сотрудничества не должны обосабливаться: необходимо формирование общего, гармонизированного экономического пространства, основанного на сопряжении потенциалов различных объединений.

ОЧЭС имеет хороший опыт партнерства с другими многосторонними структурами. Напомню, что раньше у Организации были налажены продуктивные контакты с Евразийским экономическим сообществом. На смену ему создан Евразийский экономический союз, который стал важным фактором интеграционных процессов в регионе. Заключение между ОЧЭС и ЕАЭС Меморандума о взаимопонимании пошло бы на пользу двум организациям.

Требует к себе внимания и тема приграничного сотрудничества на уровне отдельных регионов. На Балтике и вообще на севере Европы такое взаимодействие уже успешно осуществляется. То же самое можно было бы сделать и в Причерноморье под эгидой ОЧЭС.

Поддерживаем развитие сотрудничества ООН с ОЧЭС. Принятая 26 ноября резолюция 73-й сессии Генассамблеи придает дополнительный импульс сопряжению усилий двух организаций в целях поддержки экономического роста и интеграционных процессов в Черноморском регионе. К сожалению, второй год подряд не удается возобновить практику проведения «на полях» сессии Генеральной Ассамблеи  неформальных заседаний СМИД ОЧЭС.

Как вам известно, по инициативе России в рамках ОЧЭС создан Механизм развития проектного сотрудничества. Мы внесли в его бюджет взнос в размере 1 млн.долл.США. Рассчитываем, что нашему примеру последуют и другие страны. Два проекта уже реализованы – один по линии ЧБТР, другой – в сотрудничестве с ЕЭК ООН. Еще по четырем проектам приняты положительные решения. Поступают новые заявки. Будем и далее продвигать инициативы в таких интересных для наших граждан областях, как, например, повышение энергоэффективности зданий, популяризация и брендирование оригинальных блюд и продуктов черноморской кухни. Признательны Генеральному секретарю за обеспечение прозрачности работы Механизма развития проектного сотрудничества. Рассчитываем, что на последующих этапах за счет его средств можно будет финансировать и совместные проекты с Европейским союзом. Разумеется, такие проекты должны определяться самими прибрежными государствами.

Уважаемые коллеги,

За четверть века своего существования ОЧЭС состоялась как востребованная региональная площадка. Ее дальнейший успех будет зависеть от того, насколько прагматично мы сможем выстраивать наше взаимодействие. К сожалению, в последнее время ситуация в Черноморском регионе деградировала. Важно эту тенденцию обратить вспять и работать над тем, чтобы превратить Причерноморье в зону мира, стабильности и процветания. Убеждены, Организация не должна быть ареной для политических баталий, тем более сведения счетов. У ОЧЭС есть четко определенный экономический профиль, и его статус необходимо уважать. В этом – залог способности ОЧЭС содействовать развитию интеграционных связей.

В заключение хотел бы пожелать успехов Болгарии, принимающей эстафету Председательства.

 

Дополнительные материалы

Видео

Фотографии

Организация по безопасности сотрудничества в Европе (ОБСЕ)

Совет Европы (СЕ)

НАТО

Европейский союз (ЕС)

x
x
Дополнительные инструменты поиска