24 July 200813:18

Outcome of 15th Session of ASEAN Regional Forum

1087-24-07-2008

  • de-DE1 en-GB1 es-ES1 ru-RU1 fr-FR1

PRESS RELEASE

Sergey Lavrov, Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation, on July 24 in Singapore took part in the 15th anniversary session of the ASEAN Regional Forum (ARF). This one of the major mechanisms of creating a comprehensive security system in the AP region incorporates twenty-six countries, including Russia, the PRC, United States, Japan, India, Pakistan, the ASEAN nations, and the European Union.

The focus of attention was themes relating to the maintenance of peace and stability in the region. Such topical themes as cooperation in emergency response, the Korean Peninsula nuclear problem, Iran's "nuclear dossier," the situation in Iraq and Afghanistan, and Middle East settlement were substantively examined.

Questions of building up regional cooperation in the struggle against traditional and new challenges in the area of security were thoroughly discussed. The participants welcomed Russia's bid for the co-chairmanship of the ARF Inter-sessional Meeting on Counter-Terrorism and Transnational Crime in 2010. Backing was given to Russia's proposal to define as a priority area of work in the framework of this mechanism the ensuring of security of supplies of energy resources and the counterterrorist protection of energy infrastructure.

The necessity was stressed of coordinating approaches towards the further evolution of the Forum. It is borne in mind to develop and adopt an ARF 2020 Vision, a document that will define the main areas, forms and methods of practical cooperation for the long term.

New lines of ARF activity will include ARF Inter-sessional Meetings on Nonproliferation and Disarmament and on Maritime Security. Aimed at deepening joint work are the ARF Statement on Promoting Collaboration on the Prevention of Diversion of Precursors into Illicit Drug Manufacture, and the decisions on the preparation of a Cooperation Work Plan on Counter-Terrorism and Transnational Crime and on the creation of a mechanism of ARF experts' meetings on cyber security and counter-cyberterrorism.

The next ARF meeting at the level of foreign ministers will be held in Bangkok in July 2009.

July 24, 2008

Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE)

Council of Europe (CoE)

NATO (North Atlantic Treaty Organization)

European Union (EU)

x
x
Advanced settings

24.07.0813:18

Об итогах 15-й сессии Регионального форума АСЕАН по безопасности

1087-24-07-2008

  • de-DE1 en-GB1 es-ES1 ru-RU1 fr-FR1

СООБЩЕНИЕ ДЛЯ СМИ

24 июля в Сингапуре Министр иностранных дел Российской Федерации С.В.Лавров принял участие в юбилейной 15-й сессии Регионального форума АСЕАН по безопасности (АРФ). Этот один из важнейших механизмов формирования в АТР комплексной системы безопасности объединяет двадцать шесть стран, в том числе Россию, КНР, США, Японию, Индию, Пакистан, страны АСЕАН, а также Евросоюз.

В фокусе внимания находилась тематика поддержания мира и стабильности в регионе. Были предметно рассмотрены такие актуальные темы, как сотрудничество в сфере чрезвычайного реагирования, ядерная проблема Корейского полуострова, «ядерное досье» Ирана, ситуация в Ираке и Афганистане, ближневосточное урегулирование.

Обстоятельно обсуждались вопросы наращивания регионального сотрудничества в борьбе с традиционными и новыми вызовами в области безопасности. Участники приветствовали заявку России на сопредседательство в Межсессионной встрече АРФ по противодействию терроризму и транснациональной преступности в 2010 году. Поддержано российское предложение определить в качестве одного из приоритетных направлений работы в рамках этого механизма обеспечение безопасности поставок энергоресурсов и контртеррористическую защищенность энергетической инфраструктуры.

Подчеркнута необходимость согласования подходов к дальнейшему развитию Форума. Имеется в виду разработать и принять документ «Видение АРФ на период до 2020 года», который определит основные сферы, формы и методы практического сотрудничества на долгосрочную перспективу.

Новыми направлениями деятельности АРФ станут Межсессионные встречи АРФ по нераспространению ОМУ и разоружению, а также по безопасности на море. На углубление совместной работы нацелены Заявление АРФ «О сотрудничестве по предотвращению попадания прекурсоров в нелегальный оборот», решения о подготовке «Рабочего плана по сотрудничеству в области противодействия терроризму и транснациональной преступности», о создании механизма встреч экспертов АРФ по вопросам обеспечения кибербезопасности и борьбы с кибертерроризмом.

Очередная встреча АРФ на уровне министров иностранных дел состоится в Бангкоке в июле 2009 года.

24 июля 2008 года

Организация по безопасности сотрудничества в Европе (ОБСЕ)

Совет Европы (СЕ)

НАТО

Европейский союз (ЕС)

x
x
Дополнительные инструменты поиска