20 May 201016:52

ASEAN Regional Forum Senior Officials’ Meeting

685-20-05-2010

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

PRESS RELEASE

An annual Senior Officials' Meeting (SOM) of the ASEAN Regional Forum (ARF), which consists of 26 Asian-Pacific states and the European Union, took place in Danang on May 19-20. Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs Alexei Borodavkin headed the Russian delegation.

The ARF-SOM became the key stage in preparation for the 17th ARF Ministerial Session scheduled for July 23 in Hanoi. It summed up the work of the forum over the year in the main areas of practical collaboration (counteraction against terrorism and transnational crime, emergency response, and maritime security), endorsed a number of documents for the ministers to be adopted at the ARF Hanoi meeting, and decided most of the organizational matters. During the discussion on international and regional problems the participants expressed concern over the growing tension on the Korean Peninsula, and exchanged views on the Iranian nuclear problem, the situation in Afghanistan and the Afghan-Pakistani border area, including the struggle against terrorism and the threat of narcotics, as well as on other key issues of countering traditional and nontraditional security challenges and threats in the AP region.

The statement by the Russian delegation, in particular, emphasized the priority of the task of forming in the region an open and transparent security architecture reflecting the contemporary multipolar realities. In the context of the development of network diplomacy in the AP region a proposal was voiced to establish partner ties between the ARF and the SCO, in particular, on the issues of combating terrorism and drug crime.

May 20, 2010

Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE)

Council of Europe (CoE)

NATO (North Atlantic Treaty Organization)

European Union (EU)

x
x
Advanced settings

20.05.1016:52

О Совещании старших должностных лиц Регионального форума АСЕАН по безопасности

685-20-05-2010

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

СООБЩЕНИЕ ДЛЯ СМИ

19-20 мая в Дананге состоялось ежегодное Совещание старших должностных лиц Регионального форума АСЕАН по безопасности (СДЛ АРФ), в состав которого входят 26 государств Азиатско-Тихоокеанского региона и Европейский союз. Российскую делегацию возглавлял заместитель Министра иностранных дел Российской Федерации А.Н.Бородавкин.

СДЛ АРФ стало ключевым этапом подготовки к намеченной на 23 июля с.г. в Ханое 17-й министерской сессии АРФ. Подведены итоги работы форума за год по главным направлениям практического взаимодействия (противодействие терроризму и транснациональной преступности, чрезвычайное реагирование, морская безопасность), одобрен ряд документов с прицелом на их принятие министрами на ханойской встрече АРФ, решено большинство организационных вопросов. В ходе дискуссии по международной и региональной проблематике участники выразили озабоченность в связи с растущей напряженностью на Корейском полуострове, обменялись мнениями по иранской ядерной проблеме, положению в Афганистане и афгано-пакистанском пограничье, включая борьбу с терроризмом и наркотической угрозой, а также по другим ключевым вопросам противодействия традиционным и нетрадиционным вызовам и угрозам безопасности в АТР.

В выступлении российской делегации, в частности, была подчеркнута приоритетность задачи формирования в регионе открытой и транспарентной архитектуры безопасности, отражающей современные многополярные реалии. В контексте развития сетевой дипломатии в АТР прозвучало предложение об установлении партнерских связей между АРФ и ШОС, в частности, по вопросам борьбы с терроризмом и наркопреступностью.

20 мая 2010 года

Организация по безопасности сотрудничества в Европе (ОБСЕ)

Совет Европы (СЕ)

НАТО

Европейский союз (ЕС)

x
x
Дополнительные инструменты поиска