5 August 201521:07

Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov’s remarks at a meeting with business representatives, Kuala Lumpur, August 5, 2015

1508-05-08-2015

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

Ladies and gentlemen, friends,

I would like, first of all, to thank the Russian Business Council for Cooperation with Malaysia for organising our meeting today and for the opportunity to exchange views with you on the current situation in the global and regional economies, their impact on Russia’s trade and investment cooperation with Malaysia and ASEAN as a whole, and the business community’s role in promoting it.

The map of the world’s economic development is changing before our eyes. This is clear as we see the Asia Pacific Region (APR) confidently asserting itself as the driver of global growth. The APR today accounts for 60 per cent of global GDP and almost 45 per cent of direct trans-border investment. Despite the crisis in certain parts of the world, this region is growing steadily, with a 5.8 per cent growth forecast for this year. I am confident that it is these markets that will be the main source of increase in global demand in the next decade or perhaps longer.

Currently, economic difficulties can be felt everywhere. In our case, there is the influence of illegitimate, unilateral sanctions directed at Russia by a number of Western countries, the influence of which is superimposed upon global economic problems.

But our country is confidently coping with the hard times. Late last year, some predicted that the Russian economy would be in ruins. This didn’t happen. On the contrary, we’ve stabilised the situation, quenched the negative oscillations of economic indicators, and stabilised the currency rate. We’ve kept our reserves intact and are controlling inflation. Unemployment is at a rather low level, 5.8 per cent. Russia has a positive trade balance, the physical volume of its non-primary sector is growing, and high-technology exports are on the rise. The budget is being used as planned. On the whole, our financial and banking system has adapted successfully to the new environment. We are active in developing production at home. We’ve considerably stepped up our import substitution effort and pay much more attention to enhancing the quality and competitiveness of domestic products. In so doing, we are not closing our economy. On the contrary, we are expanding freedoms, encouraging greater openness, and are broadening our involvement in integration associations.

We are taking steps to improve the business climate by creating open, predictable and favourable conditions and opportunities for investors and greater cooperation in all areas. We continue to support major investment and infrastructure projects. We’ve introduced a system of tax “vacations” for small and medium-sized businesses. It has been decided to freeze tax rates for the next four years. Our invariable intention is to do our utmost and even more to make investment in Russia profitable.

These measures enable our country to strengthen its position as a promising market. Last year alone, over 60 joint ventures started operations in Russia. We are always open to mutually beneficial cooperation with our traditional and new partners.

The future of Russia as the biggest Eurasian power, two-thirds of whose territory lies in Asia, is inseparably linked with the APR. It’s logical that we, like the other Eurasian Economic Union member-states, are seeking to increase ties with the countries in this region and remove barriers to trade and investment. The EAEU has signed its first free trade area agreement with Vietnam. We regard this as a pilot project that will promote trade liberalisation with other ASEAN countries.

We’ve discussed this idea and it was approved at the Russia-ASEAN Dialogue Partnership ministerial meeting. Russia and the ASEAN Ten are pursuing largely similar objectives in a bid to modernise their economies, boost   competitiveness and ensure stable growth for the benefit of their populations. We intend to take full advantage of the available investment and technological potential of this for the socio-economic development of Russia’s regions, which is part of our 21st-century national project to develop Siberia and the Russian Far East. We are creating open and supportive conditions for investment and production there. We are launching mechanisms for zones of priority development with favourable tax and administrative business conditions. We are modernising the Trans-Siberian Railway and the Baikal-Amur Railway, the Northern Sea Route, seaports and motorways, which will promote cost-efficient cargo transiting on APR-Europe routes. The new Power of Siberia gas pipeline project to increase gas distribution in Asia is now underway. Thanks to these efforts, investors will have unique opportunities to work in the Russian market, and importantly, a profitable jumping-off point for direct access to the vast and growing APR market.

We know that similar large-scale projects are being implemented under the ASEAN Interconnection Master Plan. Russia is ready to participate in these as well. This will help create the infrastructure necessary for our cooperation in such important areas as oil and gas, aircraft manufacturing, the iron-and-steel industry, and nuclear power. These possibilities are being studied by Russian-Malaysian business organisations. Some additional opportunities for this will emerge in August, when participants in the Russia-ASEAN Economic Ministers Meeting sign an agreement on a joint Russian-Malaysian commission for economic, scientific, technological and cultural cooperation.

Today Russia is ASEAN’s eighth largest trade partner. Our trade reached $21 billion in 2014. Of course, this is less than the indicators for ASEAN trade with the US, China or Japan. But a few years ago, this figure was only $10 billion. This indicates that we are on the right track.

The Association, for its part, is one of ten largest trade partners for Russia. Last year, bilateral trade with Malaysia was worth $3.3 billion, growing by almost a quarter during the year. But we have a lot of potential to be tapped as we work to implement the Russia-ASEAN trade and investment roadmap, specifically to approve a list of several dozen major joint projects as a supplement. The business community as the main driver of economic development will play the key role in the implementation of these projects.

Russia is sending comprehensive business missions to Southeast Asia on a regular basis. Last year, Russian entrepreneurial delegations visited a number of countries in the APR, including Malaysia. Our plans for the near future include yet another mission to your country in August and the Russia-ASEAN Business Summit in November in the wake of the Kuala Lumpur ASEAN Summit. I hope that the Business Council for Cooperation with Russia, which Malaysia established earlier this year, will join the effort to organise these.

We hope that the Malaysian business community will exhibit growing interest in its cooperation with Russia. The first Eastern Economic Forum scheduled for Vladivostok on September 3-5 is the earliest opportunity to learn about the prospects for cooperation. A separate Russia-ASEAN session has been planned as part of the agenda. We invite you all to attend the forum, during which we intend to provide the details on all the opportunities opening up in the Russian Far East.

In closing, let me stress that building cooperation with all of the ASEAN countries is invariably a key priority of Russian foreign policy. We support ASEAN’s central role in promoting reliable security and sustainable development in the APR. The Russia-ASEAN Dialogue Partnership will be 20 years old in 2016. An understanding has been reached on holding a related summit.

Thank you for your time and attention.

Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE)

Council of Europe (CoE)

NATO (North Atlantic Treaty Organization)

European Union (EU)

x
x
Advanced settings

5.08.1521:07

Выступление Министра иностранных дел России С.В.Лаврова на встрече с представителями деловых кругов, Куала-Лумпур, 5 августа 2015 года

1508-05-08-2015

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

Уважаемые дамы и господа,

Дорогие друзья,

Прежде всего хотел бы поблагодарить российский Деловой совет по сотрудничеству с Малайзией за организацию нашей сегодняшней встречи, возможность обменяться с вами мнениями о текущей ситуации в мировой и региональной экономике, ее воздействии на торгово-инвестиционное взаимодействие России с Малайзией, АСЕАН в целом, роли деловых кругов в его продвижении.

Карта экономического развития мира меняется буквально на глазах. Аксиома его нынешнего этапа – уверенное закрепление Азиатско-Тихоокеанского региона в качестве «локомотива» глобального роста. Уже сегодня на АТР приходится 60% мирового ВВП и почти 45% совокупного объема прямых трансграничных инвестиций. Несмотря на кризис в некоторых частях мира, экономический рост в регионе твердо растет и в нынешнем году прогнозируется на уровне 5,8%. Я уверен, что в ближайшее десятилетие, а может, и в течение более долгого периода, именно эти рынки будут основным источником увеличения мирового спроса.

Экономические затруднения сегодня есть везде. В нашем случае к проблемам, которые испытывает мировая экономика, добавляется влияние введенных рядом западных стран нелегитимных односторонних санкций в отношении России.

Однако наша страна уверенно справляемся с трудными временами. В конце прошлого года кое-кто предрекал, что наша экономика будет лежать в руинах. Этого не произошло. Наоборот, мы стабилизировали ситуацию, погасили негативные колебания экономических индикаторов стабилизировали курс нашей валюты, сохранили свои резервы, контролируем инфляцию, на весьма низком уровне безработица – 5,8%. У России положительный торговый баланс, растет физический объем несырьевого сектора, в том числе высокотехнологичного, экспорта. Устойчиво выполняется бюджет. В целом наша финансовая и банковская системы успешно адаптировались к новым условиям. Активно занимаемся развитием собственного производства. Мы существенно активизировали работу по импортозамещению, уделяем намного большее внимание повышению качества и конкурентоспособности отечественной продукции. Мы делаем это, не закрывая нашу экономику, а расширяя свободы, повышая открытость и наращивая участие в интеграционных объединениях.

Предпринимаем активные шаги по улучшению делового климата, созданию максимально свободных, предсказуемых, благоприятных условий и возможностей для инвесторов и развития кооперации по всем направлениям. Продолжаем поддерживать крупные инвестиционные и инфраструктурные проекты. Введена система налоговых «каникул» для малого и среднего бизнеса. Принято решение на ближайшие четыре года зафиксировать налоговые ставки. Наш неизменный настрой – сделать все и даже больше, чтобы вкладывать в Россию было выгодно.

Эти меры позволяют нашей стране укреплять свои позиции в качестве перспективного рынка. Только за последний год у нас начали практическую деятельность более 60 предприятий с зарубежным участием. Всегда открыты для взаимовыгодного сотрудничества с традиционными и новыми партнерами.

Будущее России как крупнейшей евразийской державы, две трети территории которой находится в Азии, неразрывно связано с АТР. Логично, что мы, как и другие государства Евразийского экономического союза, стремимся наращивать связи со странами региона, устранять барьеры в торговле и инвестициях. ЕАЭС заключил первое соглашение о зоне свободной торговли с Вьетнамом. Рассматриваем его в качестве «пилотного» проекта для выхода на торговую либерализацию со всей АСЕАН. Мы обсуждали эту идею, и она получила одобрение в ходе министерской встречи Диалогового партнерства Россия-АСЕАН. Россия и асеановская «десятка» решают во многом схожие задачи по модернизации и повышению конкурентоспособности экономик, обеспечению устойчивого роста в интересах процветания своих народов. Мы намерены максимально задействовать открывающийся инвестиционный и технологический потенциал для социально-экономического развития российских регионов, в том числе в рамках нашего национального проекта на весь XXI век по подъему Сибири и Дальнего Востока. Создаем здесь свободные и комфортные условия для размещения капиталов и производств, запускаем механизм территорий опережающего развития с льготным налоговым и административным режимом для бизнеса. Принимаются меры по модернизации Транссиба и БАМа, Северного морского пути, портов и автодорог, позволяющие обеспечить рентабельный транзит грузов по маршруту АТР – Европа. Начато строительство газопровода «Сила Сибири», призванного увеличить поставки газа в Азию. Благодаря этому инвесторы получат уникальные возможности для работы на российском рынке и, что важно, выгодный плацдарм для прямого выхода на емкий растущий рынок АТР.

Знаем, что подобные крупномасштабные проекты реализуются и в рамках Генерального плана по взаимосвязанности АСЕАН. Россия готова в них участвовать. Это позволило бы создать необходимую инфраструктуру для нашего сотрудничества в таких важных сферах, как нефть и газ, авиастроение, металлургия, атомная энергетика. По линии российско-малайзийских деловых структур данные темы уже прорабатываются. Дополнительные возможности для этого появятся с подписанием на встрече министров экономики Россия-АСЕАН в августе соглашения о Совместной Российско-Малайзийской комиссии по экономическому, научно-техническому и культурному сотрудничеству.

Сегодня Россия занимает восьмое место по объему товарооборота с АСЕАН, который в 2014 году достиг 21 млрд. долл. США. Безусловно, это меньше, чем аналогичные показатели у АСЕАН и США, Китая или Японии. Но еще несколько лет эта цифра равнялась  10 млрд. долл. Поэтому мы на правильном пути.

В свою очередь, Ассоциация входит в десятку крупнейших торговых партнеров нашей страны. В прошлом году объем двусторонней торговли с Малайзией составил 3,3 млрд. долл., увеличившись за год почти на четверть. Но у нас есть еще значительные резервы. Задействовать их призвано выполнение «дорожной карты» Россия-АСЕАН по торговле и инвестициям, в частности, одобрение в качестве ее приложения перечня из нескольких десятков крупных совместных проектов. Ключевую роль в их реализации должно сыграть деловое сообщество как основная движущая сила экономического развития.

Комплексные российские бизнес-миссии в Юго-Восточную Азию уже приобрели регулярный характер – в прошлом году делегации наших предпринимателей посетили ряд стран региона, в том числе Малайзию. В планах на ближайшее будущее – очередная миссия в вашу страну в августе и Деловой саммит Россия-АСЕАН в ноябре в привязке к мероприятиям «десятки» на высшем уровне в Куала-Лумпуре. Надеюсь, к их организации активно подключится Деловой совет по сотрудничеству с Россией, созданный в Малайзии в этом году.

Рассчитываем на дальнейший рост интереса малайзийского бизнеса к сотрудничеству с Россией. Ближайшая возможность познакомиться с перспективами взаимодействия – Восточный экономический форум, который впервые пройдет 3-5 сентября во Владивостоке. В его рамках запланирована отдельная сессия Россия-АСЕАН. Мы приглашаем вас принять активное участие. В ходе форума намерены подробно проинформировать обо всех возможностях, которые открываются в работе на Дальнем Востоке.

В заключение подчеркну – наращивание сотрудничества с «десяткой» неизменно является одним из ключевых приоритетов внешней политики России. Мы поддерживаем центральную, системообразующую роль АСЕАН в обеспечении надежной безопасности и устойчивого развития в АТР. В 2016 году Диалоговому партнерству Россия-АСЕАН исполняется 20 лет, в этой связи достигнута договоренность о проведении саммита.

Благодарю за внимание.

Организация по безопасности сотрудничества в Европе (ОБСЕ)

Совет Европы (СЕ)

НАТО

Европейский союз (ЕС)

x
x
Дополнительные инструменты поиска