20 March 201820:40

Who is really interfering?

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

We are used to our Western partners staging a dramatic show in the press before every election.  We said it would be the same this time and we were asked to cite examples. So here are just a few and they are real eye-openers.

As it often happens, the tone was set by the ruling elite in a number of states that tried to present the Russian election as not honest, transparent, fair or legitimate. At the behest of politicians, the media – so-called independent observers and other “Russia experts” – amplified the message.

Thus, on March 16 of this year official spokesman for the US Department of State Heather Nauert said that the decision of the Russian Central Election Commission to deny independent media the status of observers shows that the Kremlin is afraid of transparency in the presidential election. Let’s recall that video cameras were installed at 43,271 voting stations so that all those interested could watch the course of voting live. The election was monitored by 1,513 foreign observers from 115 countries and covered by over 15,000 journalists from 3,000 media outlets, including 99 foreign ones. The decisions were explained at the 149th session of the Central Election Commission of the Russian Federation on March 16 of this year.

Combining their own speculation with that of all manner of “inside sources” that flooded the Russian media on the eve of the election, a number of Western media conducted a systemic policy aimed at discrediting the election.

On March 15, the Danish newspaper Politiken published the article “Russians threatened and lured into polling stations.” According to the article, voter turnout was controlled with cutting-edge technology – from mobile applications to social media at all levels – from companies to universities and cultural centres.

On March 14, the American magazine The Nation published the opinion piece, “In Russia, everyone is tired of national politics.” Its author argues that everyone in Russia – from the President to voters – is tired of the existing situation and can only wait for “Russia’s new renaissance,” but not without making a number of factual errors, like the claim that the Sleeping-2 series was shown on the television channel NTV, not Channel One.

 As for political fatigue, with 99.84 percent of votes counted, the Central Election Commission announced that 73.37 million people voted, including about 400,000 who voted abroad, putting turnout at 67.47 percent.

On the eve of the vote, on March 17, the German tabloid Bild published a piece under the big headline “Bild congratulates President Putin on his election win,” in which it answers in its usual brief, detail-free way “the most important questions about the fourth term of Vladimir Putin.” Apparently, the author expected the readers to come away absolutely convinced that his thesis is correct: “Russia is holding an election and the winner is unknown – unthinkable in Vladimir Putin’s Russia.”

On March 13, the French news website published an interview with Cyril Bre, an expert on Russia, under the title “Putin’s reelection: Are Russians masochists or are we missing something?”  The expert claimed that in Russian elections the ability of governors to boost turnout is more important than the result itself. The BBC’s Russian service also expressed concern over turnout by publishing a series of reports of Russians being “coerced” into voting. A piece published on March 18 explored why Russians went to vote early in the morning. The authors were trying to figure out why the share of those voting in the morning had grown so much. They quoted the opinion of political strategist Valentin Bianki who described the high morning turnout as a “consequence of administrative mobilisation.”

On March 14, British newspaper The Guardian published a cartoon on the poisoning of Sergey Skripal. The image shows the Russian President as a blood red spider with a red star on its forehead crawling over the globe. It seems that the image was inspired by old propaganda guidelines taken by the British intelligence from the Third Reich. After all, the cartoon faithfully reproduces a poster made for a 1936 anti-Bolshevik exhibition under the title Der Bolschewismus.

It is clear that the US-financed Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty could not stay out of this campaign. On March 20, 2018 it published an article “Russian researcher says Putin may have received 10 million fraudulent votes,” based on an interview with Sergey Shpilkin, who is presented as an expert “renowned for his studies of Russian elections.” This so-called expert Shpilkin claims that the winning candidate received several million falsified votes. Our advice for both the author and this would-be expert will be to file a complaint to this effect with the Central Election Commission, if they have any real evidence. Otherwise, all these conclusions can be viewed as outright propaganda. What this article and other publications by Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty have in common is their propaganda drive and the intent to instil in the Russian public a feeling that the popular vote was unfair.

One article stands out, however. It presents a cynical and sophisticated way of interfering in Russia’s election space. On March 12, Deutsche Welle’s Russian desk published an article “Five strategies of protest behaviour at Russian presidential election.” Demonstrating a total lack of respect for the Russian law, Deutsche Welle published nothing short of a guideline on ways to express disagreement with the current system of government, including election procedures. The Foreign Ministry views these articles as an outrageous violation of journalist ethics and the principle of non-interference in domestic affairs. We would like to note in this regard that Deutsche Welle received EUR 325 million from Germany’s federal budget in 2017 to finance its radio, television and online programming, as indicated on the website of the German federal government. I will leave it to you to draw the conclusions.

We cited just a few articles with misleading information about the elections in Russia. Western propaganda agencies did all they could to undermine trust in the Russian elections by skilfully juggling facts, searching for the most incredible ideas on Russian social media and giving them credit. In doing so, they demonstrated a system-wide disdain for the Russian democracy and Russian voters, denying them the ability to make a conscious choice. They also appropriated the right to designate legitimate opposition candidates. They can indulge in wishful thinking as much as their hearts desire, but on March 18, 2018 the Russian people made it quite clear that they care about the future of their country, while all the attempts to influence the situation, including those coming from abroad, are doomed to failure.

Additional materials

Photos

20.03.1820:40

Так кто куда вмешивается?

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

То, что западные партнёры перед каждыми выборами устраивают светопреставление в прессе, мы привыкли. Говорили о том, что так будет и в этот раз. А нас просили: приведите примеры. Пожалуйста. Буквально несколько, но очень показательных.

Тон, как это часто бывает, изначально задали властные круги ряда государств, которые попытались представить российское голосование как нечестное, непрозрачное, несправедливое и нелегитимное. С подачи политиков об этом заговорили СМИ, т.н. независимые наблюдатели и иные «специалисты по России».

В частности, 16 марта с.г. официальный представитель Госдепартамента США Х.Науэрт заявила, что «решение ЦИК России отказать в предоставлении статуса наблюдателей более чем пяти тысячам представителей независимых СМИ показывает, что кремлевские власти боятся прозрачности» на выборах Президента. Напоминаем, что на 43 271 избирательных участках были установлены видеокамеры, так что все желающие смогли понаблюдать за ходом голосования в прямом эфире. На выборах работали 1 513 иностранных наблюдателей из 115 стран, их освещали более 15 000 журналистов из 3 000 СМИ, в том числе – 99 иностранных. Все разъяснения по поводу этого решения были даны на 149-м заседании Центральной избирательной комиссии Российской Федерации 16 марта с.г.

Ряд западных СМИ, сочетая собственные спекуляции с разного рода «инсайдами», наводнившими российское медийное пространство в преддверии выборов, проводили системную линию на дискредитацию голосования.

Так, датская газета «Политикен» 15 марта с.г. напечатала статью «Русским угрожают и их заманивают на избирательные участки». По версии газеты, явку в России контролировали при помощи самых современных технологий – от мобильных приложений до соцсетей. И на всех уровнях – от предприятий до университетов и культурных центров.

Американский журнал «Нэйшн» 14 марта с.г. опубликовала комментарий «В России все устали от национальной политики», автор которой утверждает, что в России все – от Президента до избирателей – устали от существующей ситуации, остается лишь ждать «нового возрождения». Не обошлось без фактических ошибок: утверждается, например, что сериал «Спящие-2» вышел на телеканале НТВ, а не на «Первом канале», как это было в действительности. К слову об усталости от национальной политики: по информации ЦИК по итогам обработки 99,84% голосов, на избирательные участки 18 марта пришли 73,37 млн.человек, из них около 400 тысяч проголосовали за рубежом. Явка составила 67,47%.

Немецкая бульварная газета «Бильд» накануне голосования, 17 марта, выпустила материал под большим заголовком «Бильд поздравляет Владимира Путина с победой на выборах». В котором в свойственной для себя манере коротко и без деталей «отвечает на важнейшие вопросы о четвертых выборах Президента для Владимира Путина». По задумке автора, видимо, к концу материала читатель должен полностью убедиться в справедливости тезиса, заявленного газетой в начале статьи: «В России проходят выборы и победитель неизвестен – немыслимо в России Владимира Путина».

Французский новостной сайт «Атлантико» под заголовком «Переизбрание Путина: русские – мазохисты, или мы чего-то не понимаем?» 13 марта с.г. опубликовал интервью с неким экспертом по России Сирилем Бре, утверждавшим, что в «российских выборах большее значение имеет не результат, а способность губернаторов обеспечить явку». Вопросы явки волновали и русскоязычную службу BBC: раз за разом там появлялись сообщения о «принуждении» россиян к голосованию. В опубликованном 18 марта с.г. материале «Весь день свободен: почему россияне пошли голосовать с утра пораньше» авторы пытаются разобраться, почему же так вырос процент голосующих с утра. В этой связи приводится мнение политтехнолога Валентина Бианки, который объясняет высокую утреннюю явку «следствием административной мобилизации».

14 марта с.г. британская «Гардиан» в контексте отравления С.Скрипаля опубликовала карикатуру, изображающую российского Президента в виде кроваво-красного паука с красной звездой на лбу, наползающего на Землю. Вдохновлялись, видимо, старыми методичками, вывезенными британской разведкой из Третьего Рейха – карикатура практически полностью воспроизводит рекламный плакат к антибольшевистской выставке 1936 года «Der Bolschewismus».

Финансируемое США Радио «Свобода», конечно, тоже не могло не поучаствовать в этой кампании. 20 марта с.г. вышла статья «Статистика показывает: за Путина вброшено 10 миллионов голосов», составленная на основе интервью с «активным экспертом в электоральной статистике» С.Шпилькиным. "Эксперт" Шпилькин уверяет, что за победившего на выборах кандидата было вброшено несколько миллионов бюллетеней. Рекомендуем и автору, и "эксперту", если у них есть реальные доказательства этих утверждений, обратиться с соответствующей жалобой в ЦИК России. В противном случае все эти выводы можно смело отнести к пропаганде. Вышеупомянутый и другие материалы Радио Свобода на тему состоявшихся в России выборов объединяет явная пропагандистская заряженность и стремление создать в российском общественном мнении ощущение несправедливости сделанного нашим народом выбора.

Есть, однако, материал, выделяющийся на общем фоне. Он демонстрирует особо циничную и изощренную форму вторжения в российское выборное пространство. 12 марта с.г. русскоязычная редакция «Дойче велле» опубликовала статью «Пять стратегий протестного поведения на выборах президента России». Демонстрируя явное неуважение к российскому законодательству, «Дойче велле» фактически дает рекомендации по выражению несогласия с действующей государственной системой, в т.ч. с выборными процедурами. Считаем подобного рода публикации вопиющим нарушением журналистской этики и принципа невмешательства во внутренние дела государства. Хотели бы напомнить в этой связи, что в 2017 году на финансирование радио-, ТВ- и Интернет-программ «Дойче велле» из федерального бюджета Германии было выделено 325 миллионов евро, о чем сообщается на сайте германского Федерального правительства. Выводы делайте сами.

Мы привели лишь несколько публикаций СМИ, в которых искажается информация о российских выборах. Умело жонглируя фактами, выискивая в российских социальных сетях самые безумные теории и выдавая их за правду, западные пропагандистские структуры приложили максимум усилий для подрыва доверия к нашему голосованию. При этом они продемонстрировали системное неуважение к российской демократии и российскому избирателю, отказав ему в способности самостоятельно принимать решения и делать осознанный выбор. И присвоили себе право определять легитимность того или иного оппозиционного кандидата в Президенты. Можно сколько угодно выдавать желаемое за действительное, но 18 марта 2018 года россияне довольно четко дали понять: им небезразлична судьба собственной страны, а любые попытки повлиять на нее, в т.ч. извне, обречены на провал.

Дополнительные материалы

Фотографии