4 August 201713:33

Comment by the Information and Press Department on Council of Europe Commissioner for Human Rights Nils Muiznieks’ position concerning the application ECODEFENCE and others v. Russia

1453-04-08-2017

  • de-DE1 en-GB1 es-ES1 ru-RU1 fr-FR1

 

Russia has been perplexed by a recently published comment, in which the Council of Europe Commissioner for Human Rights, Nils Muiznieks, announces his decision to intervene as a third party in the European Court of Human Rights proceedings concerning ECODEFENCE and others v. Russia and inveighs against Russian legislation regulating the activities of non-commercial organisations.

Specifically, Mr Muiznieks describes Russian legislation as “running counter to human rights” and “incompatible with international and European human rights standards.” He also estimates it as an “interference with the free exercise of the rights to freedom of association and freedom of expression” that allegedly leads to a situation where the organisations in question and their staff are subjected to “ostracism, harassment and even physical attacks.” 

We consider such assertions and the tone of comments chosen by the Commissioner as an unfriendly gesture in relation to our country, the legislation of which fully conforms to the norms of international law. The mention of “harassment and physical attacks” is completely ungrounded.

We call on Nils Muiznieks to use verified information in his public comments and avoid false accusations and politicisation of purely legal matters s related to the activities of the ECHR.   

Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE)

NATO (North Atlantic Treaty Organization)

European Union (EU)

Web Content Display

x
x
Advanced settings

4.08.1713:33

Комментарий Департамента информации и печати МИД России в связи с позицией Комиссара Совета Европы по правам человека Н.Муйжниекса относительно жалобы «Экозащита и другие против России»

1453-04-08-2017

  • de-DE1 en-GB1 es-ES1 ru-RU1 fr-FR1

 

У российской стороны вызвал недоумение недавно опубликованный Комиссаром Совета Европы по правам человека комментарий в связи с его решением выступить третьей стороной в рассмотрении жалобы в Европейском Суде по правам человека (ЕСПЧ) «Экозащита и другие против России», в котором он допускает резкие выпады в адрес российского законодательства о регулировании деятельности некоммерческих организаций.

В частности, Н.Муйжниекс характеризует законодательство Российской Федерации как «противоречащее правам человека» и «не соответствующее международным и европейским стандартам в области прав человека», расценивает его как «нарушение прав на свободу ассоциации и свободу выражения мнения», которое якобы приводит к «маргинализации, травле, преследованиям и даже физическим нападениям» в отношении затронутых организаций и их сотрудников.

Рассматриваем подобные утверждения и выбранную Комиссаром тональность комментария как недружественный жест в отношении нашей страны, чье законодательство полностью соответствует нормам международного права. Упоминание же неких «преследований и нападений» не имеет под собой никаких оснований.

Призываем Н.Муйжниекса в своих публичных комментариях использовать проверенную информацию, избегать ложных обвинений и политизации вопросов, связанных с деятельностью ЕСПЧ и соответственно носящих сугубо юридический характер.

Организация по безопасности сотрудничества в Европе (ОБСЕ)

НАТО

Европейский союз (ЕС)

Отображение сетевого контента

x
x
Дополнительные инструменты поиска