24 May 200815:39

On the Ratification of Protocol V on Explosive Remnants of War to the Convention on Prohibitions and Restrictions on the Use of Certain Conventional Weapons Which May Be Deemed to Be Excessively Injurious or to Have Indiscriminate Effects

746-24-05-2008

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

PRESS RELEASE

The President of the Russian Federation, Dmitry Medvedev, on May 16 signed a Federal Law on Ratification of Protocol V on Explosive Remnants of War (ERW) to the Convention on Prohibitions and Restrictions on the Use of Certain Conventional Weapons Which May Be Deemed to Be Excessively Injurious or to Have Indiscriminate Effects (the Inhumane Weapons Convention, IWC).

ERW – unexploded and/or abandoned ordnance – is one of the main sources of casualties and injuries among the civilian population as well as servicemen after armed conflicts.

Protocol V imposes responsibilities on states to clear ERW in their territories in a post-conflict period, and designates the striving of states towards cooperation in dealing with the ERW problem both one with another and with non-state and international organizations and also sets forth recommendations regarding the technical characteristics of munitions and their use. The Protocol applies to future conflicts only.

We highly assess the significance of Protocol V, which is a reasonable balance of humanitarian and defense interests, called upon to make a practical contribution to reinforcing both the Convention itself and international humanitarian law as a whole. We expect that other states will also accede to this important document and stand for its further strengthening and universalization.

May 24, 2008

x
x
Advanced settings

24.05.0815:39

О ратификации Протокола по взрывоопасным пережиткам войны (Протокола V) к Конвенции о запрещении или ограничении применения конкретных видов обычного оружия, которые могут считаться наносящими чрезмерные повреждения или имеющими неизбирательное действие

746-24-05-2008

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

СООБЩЕНИЕ ДЛЯ СМИ

16 мая Президент Российской Федерации Д.А.Медведев подписал Федеральный закон о ратификации Протокола по взрывоопасным пережиткам войны (ВПВ) (Протокола V), прилагаемого к Конвенции о запрещении или ограничении применения конкретных видов обычного оружия, которые могут считаться наносящими чрезмерные повреждения или имеющими неизбирательное действие (Конвенция о "негуманном оружии, КНО).

ВПВ - неразорвавшиеся боеприпасы и оставленные боеприпасы - представляют собой один из основных источников потерь и увечий среди гражданского населения, а также военнослужащих после завершения вооруженных конфликтов.

Протокол V налагает на государства обязательства по очистке территории от ВПВ в постконфликтный период. В нем обозначено стремление государств к развитию сотрудничества по решению проблемы ВПВ как друг с другом, так и с негосударственными и международными организациями, а также зафиксированы рекомендации в отношении технических характеристик боеприпасов и их применения. Действие Протокола распространяется только на будущие конфликты.

Высоко оцениваем значение Протокола V, представляющего разумный баланс гуманитарных и оборонных интересов, призванного внести практический вклад в укрепление как самой Конвенции, так и международного гуманитарного права в целом. Рассчитываем, что и другие государства присоединятся к этому важному документу, выступаем за его дальнейшее укрепление и универсализацию.

24 мая 2008 года

x
x
Дополнительные инструменты поиска