30 November 201214:09

Comment of the Information and Press Department of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Russia in connection with passing of the acquittal by the ICTY in the case of R. Haradinai

2248-30-11-2012

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

On November 29 the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia (ICTY) after the repeated hearings acquitted on all charge counts of the former commander of «Kosovo Liberation Army» R. Haradinai and members of his entourage. The Tribunal considered unproven the numerous murders, forcible deportation, beatings, torture and ill-treatment committed against the Serb and other population disloyal «to new authorities» of the region.

This process was accompanied by scandalous circumstances. For the first time in the history of international justice witnesses in this case were subjected to the blatant blackmail and intimidation, and often they were simply physically eliminated. And such acts were committed in the atmosphere of impunity and connivance of the international offices in Kosovo.

The Russian Federation has repeatedly drawn the attention of the UN Security Council to this unacceptable situation and called for its strong reaction to investigate the loss of people life and ensure the more effective regime for the protection of witnesses in Kosovo. Unfortunately, our calls were blocked under various pretexts on inexpediency of intervention in ostensibly objective work of the prosecution and the judiciary.

The verdict together with the recent justification of Croatian generals A. Gotovina and M. Markach is the further evidence of selective justice, when the person accused of committing crimes against humanity and war crimes remain unpunished.

We think that the state of affairs in the ICTY is unsatisfactory. The term allotted to this body expires, and Russia intends to pursue the completion of the Tribunal activities in the terms established by the UN Security Council Resolution of 1966 (2010).

November 30, 2012

x
x
Advanced settings

30.11.1214:09

Комментарий Департамента информации и печати МИД России в связи с вынесением оправдательного приговора МТБЮ по делу Р.Харадиная

2248-30-11-2012

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

 

 

29 ноября Международный трибунал по бывшей Югославии (МТБЮ) после повторных слушаний оправдал по всем пунктам обвинения бывшего командира «Освободительной армии Косово» Р.Харадиная и лиц из его окружения. Трибунал посчитал недоказанными многочисленные факты убийств, насильственной депортации, избиений, пыток и жестокого обращения, совершенных против сербского и иного населения, нелояльного «новым властям» края.

Данный процесс сопровождался скандальными обстоятельствами. Впервые в истории международного правосудия свидетели в этом деле подвергались неприкрытому шантажу и запугиванию, а зачастую попросту физически устранялись. Причем такие действия совершались в атмосфере полной безнаказанности и при попустительстве международных присутствий в Косово.

Российская Федерация неоднократно обращала внимание Совета Безопасности ООН на эту недопустимую ситуацию и требовала его решительной реакции для расследования гибели людей и обеспечения более эффективного режима защиты свидетелей в Косово. К сожалению, наши призывы блокировались под всевозможными предлогами о нецелесообразности вмешательства в якобы объективную работу стороны обвинения и судейского корпуса.

Вынесенный вердикт, наряду с недавним оправданием хорватских генералов А.Готовины и М.Маркача, - еще одно свидетельство избирательного правосудия, когда безнаказанными остаются лица, обвиняемые в совершении преступлений против человечности и военных преступлений.

Считаем неудовлетворительным положение дел в МТБЮ. Отведенный данному органу срок истекает, и Россия твердо намерена добиваться завершения деятельности Трибунала в сроки, установленные резолюцией Совета Безопасности ООН 1966 (2010).

 

30 ноября 2012 года

x
x
Дополнительные инструменты поиска