28 June 201122:04

MFA Spokesman Alexander Lukashevich Comments in Relation to the Decision of the International Criminal Court on Libya

969-28-06-2011

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

The Pre-Trial Chamber of the International Criminal Court on June 27 granted the ICC prosecutor's request and took decision to issue arrest warrants for Muammar Gaddafi, his son Saif al-Islam Gaddafi and Libyan intelligence chief Abdullah al-Senussi on charges of crimes against humanity committed across Libya from 15 February 2011 until 28 February 2011 for their role in the persecution and mass killings of civilians.

The situation in Libya was referred to the ICC by UNSCR 1970 (2011), in which the Security Council, in particular, decided that the Libyan authorities shall cooperate fully with and provide any necessary assistance to the Court and the Prosecutor pursuant to this resolution and, while recognizing that States not party to the Rome Statute have no obligations under the Statute, the Security Council urged all States and concerned regional and other international organizations to cooperate fully with the Court and the Prosecutor.

Moscow believes that along with an independent ICC investigation of the situation in Libya in accordance with the UN Security Council decision, it is necessary to continue an intensive search for a politico-diplomatic settlement in order to end bloodshed and the suffering of the Libyan people.

June 28, 2011

x
x
Advanced settings

28.06.1122:04

Комментарий официального представителя МИД России А.К.Лукашевича в связи с решением Международного уголовного суда по Ливии

969-28-06-2011

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

27 июня Палата досудебного производства Международного уголовного суда удовлетворила ходатайство прокурора МУС и приняла решение о выдаче ордеров на арест М.Каддафи, его сына Сейфульислама Каддафи и начальника военной разведки Ливии А.Аль-Сенусси по обвинению в совершении в период с 15 по 28 февраля с.г. на территории Ливии преступлений против человечности в форме причастности к массовым убийствам и преследованиям гражданского населения.

Ситуация в Ливии передана в МУС резолюцией Совета Безопасности ООН 1970 (2011), в которой СБ ООН, в частности, постановил, что ливийские власти должны в полной мере сотрудничать с Судом и Прокурором и оказывать им всю необходимую помощь во исполнение резолюции. Одновременно Совет Безопасности настоятельно призвал все государства и соответствующие региональные и прочие международные организации сотрудничать с Судом и Прокурором в полном объеме, признав, что государства, не являющиеся участниками Римского статута МУС, не несут обязательств по Статуту.

В Москве исходят из того, что наряду с проведением МУС независимого расследования ситуации в Ливии в соответствии с решением СБ ООН необходимо продолжать интенсивный поиск политико-дипломатического урегулирования с тем, чтобы положить конец кровопролитию и страданиям ливийского народа.

28 июня 2011 года

x
x
Дополнительные инструменты поиска