15 March 201719:57

Comment by the Information and Press Department on the terrorist attack in Damascus

500-15-03-2017

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

On March 15, Damascus suffered a terrorist attack.  A suicide bomber blew himself up in the Palace of Justice near Al-Hamidiyah market in the old part of the city.  Over 30 people are reported dead and about 70 injured. Later, another terrorist chased by police blew himself up in a restaurant in the western part of the Syrian capital. In addition, more reports are coming out about neutralised explosive devices planted by terrorists in other districts of the city.

We condemn this terrorist crime, which is obviously timed to coincide with the Third International Meeting on Syria in Astana. We express condolences to the victims’ families and wish a rapid recovery to the injured.

It should be noted that our attempts in the UN Security Council to adopt a resolution condemning the last large-scale terrorist attack in the Syrian capital on March 11 were not supported by several partners. We believe that the unwillingness to respond to terrorists killing Syrians with the same degree of unconditional condemnation with which the international community responds to terrorist attacks in other countries represents a double standard, which calls into question the commitment of those who apply this double standard to the cause of eradicating terrorism on the global scale. Such double standards encourage terrorists to commit new barbaric crimes and undermine efforts to separate the Syrian armed opposition from ISIS, al-Nusra and their accomplices.

We urge our partners to consider counter-terrorism efforts, in Syria or any other country, as a priority requiring special attention and international consensus, considering the tragic and destructive consequences that can result from any tolerance of this universal evil.

x
x
Advanced settings

15.03.1719:57

Комментарий Департамента информации и печати МИД России в связи с террористической атакой в Дамаске

500-15-03-2017

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

15 марта Дамаск подвергся террористической атаке. Террорист-смертник подорвал себя во Дворце правосудия вблизи рынка Хамидия в старинной части Дамаска. Сообщается о гибели более 30 человек, около 70 получили ранения. Затем другой террорист, преследуемый полицией, подорвал себя в ресторане на западе сирийской столицы. Помимо этого, поступают сообщения об обезвреженных взрывных устройствах, заложенных террористами в других частях города.

Осуждаем очередное злодеяние террористов, явно приуроченное к третьей Международной встрече по Сирии в Астане. Выражаем соболезнования семьям погибших, желаем скорейшего выздоровления пострадавшим.

Обращаем внимание на то, что наши попытки принять в Совете Безопасности ООН заявление с решительным осуждением предшествующего крупного теракта в сирийской столице 11 марта с.г. не были поддержаны рядом партнеров. Считаем, что нежелание подходить к террористам, убивающим сирийцев, с той же степенью безоговорочного осуждения, с которой международное сообщество подходит к терактам в других странах, представляет собой двойной стандарт, заставляющий сомневаться в приверженности тех, кто ему следует, задаче искоренения терроризма в глобальном масштабе. Такие двойственные подходы провоцируют террористов на новые кровавые преступления, снижают эффективность действий по размежеванию между сирийской вооруженной оппозицией, с одной стороны, и ИГИЛ, «Нусрой» и их пособниками, - с другой.

Призываем партнеров рассматривать вопросы противодействия терроризму, будь то в Сирии или любой другой стране, как приоритетные, требующие особого внимания и международного консенсуса с учетом разрушительных трагических последствий, к которым может привести попустительство этому универсальному злу.

x
x
Дополнительные инструменты поиска