5 March 201818:53

Press release on the High-Level Segment of the 37th session of the UN Human Rights Council

411-05-03-2018

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

 

Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov has attended the High-Level Segment of the 37th Session of the UN Human Rights Council (HRC) which has ended in Geneva.

In his speech, Sergey Lavrov outlined Russia’s approaches to current issues of the international human rights agenda. He emphasised Russia’s unconditional rejection of the practice of politicising human rights encouragement and protection issues, and employing them as a pretext for imposing unilateral restrictive measures against a number of states. He noted that Western countries’ attempts to impose their approaches to human rights provoke conflicts and splits, and hamper collective efforts aimed at protecting human rights and upholding the timeless moral values ​​shared by the basic religions and civilisations.

The Russian Foreign Minister expressed concern over several HRC member countries’ attempts to politicise the Council’s work, hindering unified efforts to find effective solutions to shared problems for the benefit of everyone, and to ensure genuine respect for human dignity and value.

Mr Lavrov called attention to the fact that certain countries are pointedly unprepared to unequivocally condemn international terrorism in all its forms and manifestations under the pretext of protecting freedom of expression. He stressed that the fight against terrorism must be conducted on the solid basis of national and international law. In this context, he expressed deep concern over the US decision to keep open the Guantanamo detention centre.

The Russian Foreign Minister noted the alarming growth in manifestations of racism, aggressive nationalism and religious intolerance around the world. He condemned the Baltic states’ continuing attempts to rewrite the outcome of World War II and glorify Nazi henchmen and pointed out further degradation in the human rights situation in Ukraine.

Referring to the situation in Syria, Mr Lavrov emphasised in particular UN Security Council Resolution 2401 (2018), which created a framework for the agreement of all parties to ease the lives of civilians across the country.

Overall, the High-Level Segment of the 37th Session of the HRC once again confirmed the high degree of politicisation of this leading human rights body’s work in the UN system. Open confrontation, its regular use as a tool for implementing populist schemes and the flourishing practice of double standards seriously discredit not only the Council itself, but also the idea of ​​human rights per se, stripping it of its unifying principles.

x
x
Advanced settings

5.03.1818:53

О сегменте высокого уровня 37-й сессии Совета ООН по правам человека

411-05-03-2018

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

СООБЩЕНИЕ ДЛЯ СМИ

 

В Женеве завершился сегмент высокого уровня 37-й сессии Совета ООН по правам человека (СПЧ), в работе которого принял участие Министр иностранных дел Российской Федерации С.В.Лавров.

В своем выступлении С.В.Лавров подробно осветил российские подходы к актуальным вопросам международной правозащитной повестки дня. Было подчеркнуто категорическое неприятие Россией практики политизации вопросов поощрения и защиты прав человека, использования их в качестве предлога для введения односторонних ограничительных мер в отношении ряда государств. Отмечено, что попытки навязывания западными странами своих подходов в правозащитной сфере провоцируют конфликты и раскол, препятствуют коллективным усилиям, направленным на защиту прав человека, на отстаивание непреходящих нравственных ценностей, общих для основных цивилизаций и конфессий.

Министр иностранных дел Российской Федерации выразил озабоченность в связи с попытками ряда государств-членов СПЧ политизировать его работу, которые мешают объединению усилий для эффективного поиска ответов на общие для всего человечества вызовы, обеспечения подлинного уважения к достоинству и ценности человеческой личности.

С.В.Лавров привлек внимание к демонстративной неготовности отдельных государств под предлогом защиты свободы выражения мнения однозначно осудить международный терроризм в любых его формах и проявлениях. Подчеркнул, что борьба с терроризмом должна вестись на прочной основе международного права и национального законодательства. В этом контексте была выражена глубокая озабоченность решением администрации США сохранить тюрьму в Гуантанамо.

Министр иностранных дел Российской Федерации отметил тревожную тенденцию роста проявлений расизма, агрессивного национализма и религиозной нетерпимости в мире, осудил непрекращающиеся попытки прибалтийских государств по переписыванию итогов Второй мировой войны и героизации нацистских приспешников. Констатирована дальнейшая деградация правозащитной ситуации на Украине.

Касаясь ситуации в Сирии, С.В.Лавров особо акцентировал внимание на резолюции СБ ООН 2401 (2018), которая создала рамки для согласования всеми сторонами условий облегчения участи гражданского населения на всей территории страны.

В целом сегмент высокого уровня 37-й сессии СПЧ в очередной раз подтвердил высокую степень политизации работы этого ведущего правозащитного органа системы ООН. Открытая конфронтация, регулярное использование его в качестве инструмента для реализации конъюнктурных установок и процветающая в нем практика «двойных стандартов» серьезно дискредитируют не только сам Совет, но и идею прав человека как таковую, лишают ее объединительных начал.

 

x
x
Дополнительные инструменты поиска