1 March 201818:19

Remarks by Director of the Department for Humanitarian Cooperation and Human Rights and Foreign Ministry Commissioner for Human Rights, Democracy and the Rule of Law Anatoly Viktorov at the opening of the high-level panel discussion on the 70th anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and 25th anniversary of the Vienna Declaration and Programme of Action, Geneva, February 28, 2018


  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

Mr President,

Unfortunately, Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov was unable to take part in the panel. I was instructed to convey a welcome address on his behalf.

Mr High Commissioner,


Ladies and gentlemen,

We are here today to mark two important dates - the 70th anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and the 25th anniversary of the Vienna Declaration and Programme of Action.

The importance of these documents for the promotion and protection of human rights cannot be overestimated. Almost 70 years ago, after the end of the most tragic period in the history of the 20th century - the Second World War, at the dawn of the formation of the United Nations and a new world order based on international law, the Universal Declaration of Human Rights was developed. Of course, this process caused fierce discussions. And today we still witness attempts to freely interpret the provisions of the Declaration. At the same time, it is extremely important that over 70 years, it has not lost its relevance and is a universal human rights guideline for the entire world community.

The World Conference on Human Rights in 1993 not only consolidated the indivisible, interdependent and mutually complementary nature of all categories of human rights and formalised a new stage in the development of international law doctrine in this field, but it also consolidated the positions of states from all regions of the world. Many modern universal human rights organisations emerged thanks to the Vienna Conference. The Vienna Declaration and Programme of Action are cited in virtually every UN resolution on human rights.

This year, we are celebrating the anniversary of the adoption of these two documents. This is an important reason that we can and must use for the benefit of every person and the entire humanity. Countries will have a good opportunity to improve their work in the field of human rights, while international organisations will be able to draw attention to human rights, and civil society will have an opportunity to strengthen its constructive role in these processes.

We hope that these memorable dates will allow us not only to analyse achievements and identify problems that need to be resolved, but also to outline new goals and determine tactics and strategies for the near future to overcome new challenges.

The anniversaries of these declarations should also become a reason for reflection. It is necessary to jointly think about how to restore the authority and universal support for UN human rights activities. It is obvious that both the promotion of human rights enshrined in the Universal Declaration and the work to achieve the goals of the Vienna Declaration will be effective only if they are implemented on equitable, mutually respectful and constructive cooperation between states. For this, it is necessary to work to unite the efforts of all interested parties.

And today, feeling the wide support of the entire world community, we hope that all interested parties, including states, international organisations, civil societies and expert community, will actively join the anniversary’s events.

I wish you all a fruitful and constructive discussion.

Thank you for your attention.

Advanced settings

1.03.1818:19

Выступление Директора Департамента по гуманитарному сотрудничеству и правам человека МИД России, Уполномоченного МИД России по вопросам прав человека, демократии, и верховенства права А.Д.Викторова на открытии тематической дискуссии высокого уровня «70-летие Всеобщей декларации прав человека и 25-летие Венской декларации и Программы действий», Женева, 28 февраля 2018 года

371-01-03-2018

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

Уважаемый г-н Председатель,

К сожалению, Министр иностранных дел Российской Федерации Сергей Викторович Лавров не смог принять участие в дискуссии. Мне поручено передать от его имени приветственное слово.

Уважаемый г-н Верховный комиссар,

Уважаемые коллеги,

Дамы и господа,

Мы собрались здесь, чтобы отметить две важнейшие даты – 70-летие Всеобщей декларации прав человека и 25-летие Венской декларации и Программы действий.

Значение этих документов для поощрения и защиты прав человека невозможно переоценить. Почти семьдесят лет назад, после окончания самого трагического периода в истории XX века – Второй мировой войны, на заре становления ООН и нового, основанного на международном праве миропорядка была разработана Всеобщая декларация прав человека. Безусловно, этот процесс не обошелся тогда без жарких дискуссий. И сегодня мы продолжаем сталкиваться с попытками вольного толкования положений Декларации. В то же время крайне важно, что за 70 лет она не потеряла актуальности и является универсальным правозащитным ориентиром для всего мирового сообщества.

Всемирная конференция по правам человека в 1993 году не только закрепила неделимый, взаимозависимый и взаимодополняющий характер всех категорий прав человека и зафиксировала новый этап развития доктрины международного права в этой сфере, но и консолидировала позиции государств из всех регионов мира. Существованию многих современных универсальных правозащитных структур мы обязаны именно Венской конференции. Венская декларация и Программа действий цитируются практически в каждой ооновской резолюции, имеющей отношение к правам человека.

В нынешнем году мы празднуем годовщины принятия этих двух документов. Это важный повод, который мы можем и должны использовать на благо каждого человека и всего человечества. Государства получат хорошую возможность для совершенствования работы в правозащитной области, международные организации – для привлечения внимания к правам человека, гражданское общество – для укрепления своей конструктивной роли в этих процессах.

Надеемся, что эти памятные даты позволят нам не только проанализировать достижения и выявить проблемы, требующие решения, но и наметить новые цели, определить тактику и стратегию на ближайшее будущее по преодолению новых вызовов.

Юбилеи деклараций должны также стать и поводом для размышлений. Необходимо совместно подумать над тем, как вернуть авторитет и универсальную поддержку деятельности ООН на правозащитном направлении. Очевидно, что и продвижение прав человека, закрепленных во Всеобщей декларации, и работа по достижению целей Венской декларации будут эффективными только в том случае, если они будут осуществляться на основе равноправного взаимоуважительного и конструктивного сотрудничества между государствами. Для этого необходимо работать на объединение усилий всех заинтересованных сторон.

И сегодня, ощущая за собой широкую поддержку всего мирового сообщества, мы рассчитываем, что все заинтересованные стороны, включая государства, международные организации, гражданское общество и экспертные круги, активно подключатся к юбилейным мероприятиям.

Желаю вам всем плодотворной и конструктивной дискуссии.

Благодарю за внимание.

x
x
Дополнительные инструменты поиска