23 September 201120:33

Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov Meets with Leaders and Foreign Ministers of South Pacific Island States


  • de-DE1 en-GB1 es-ES1 ru-RU1


On the margins of the 66th UN General Assembly session in New York on September 22, Sergey Lavrov, Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation, met with the leaders and foreign ministers of the Republic of Vanuatu, Republic of Kiribati, Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the Republic of Nauru, the Independent State of Papua New Guinea, the Independent State of Samoa, the Republic of Solomon Islands, the Kingdom of Tonga, Tuvalu, and the Republic of the Fiji Islands. From the Republic of Palau, its Permanent Representative to the UN took part.

The participants of the meeting discussed the promising areas of cooperation in different areas. Interest was confirmed for building up interaction between Russia and the South Pacific countries on a wide range of issues in the interest of security and sustainable development in the region.

September 23, 2011

Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE)

Council of Europe (CoE)

NATO (North Atlantic Treaty Organization)

European Union (EU)

Advanced settings